The AAIA regularly hosts events in Sydney and in Athens.

We currently developing an exciting events program for Semester 2 of 2022, so please follow us on Facebook or Twitter for updates. Past events that have been recorded can be watched via our YouTube channel.

To be notified about our upcoming events join our mailing list:

Upcoming Events

Our events are frequently advertised on Eventbrite

Upcoming events in Athens are advertised via our Facebook page. Please be sure to follow us there for updates.

AAIA 40th Anniversary Conference “Mobility and Settlement in the Eastern Mediterranean”

***Postponed indefinitely: Please check back for details***
University of Sydney, Camperdown Campus

Confirmed key-note speakers to address the conference are:

  • Christina Ioannou (University of Nicosia), on the Connections between Cyprus and the Near East,
  • Antonis Kotsonas (New York University), on Mobility and Interaction in the Northern Aegean,
  • Nicholas Stampolidis (University of Crete), on Crete’s External Contacts between 1000 and 600 BC.

The full program and information for delegates will be available on our website: https://aaia.sydney.edu.au/40th-anniversary-conference/

Past Events

2022 Events

The Australian Archaeological Institute at Athens Annual Report Event
Thursday 16 June, 7pm Athens time, Scuola Archeologica Italiana di Atene, 14-16 Parthenonos Street, Makriyianni.

Speakers: Dr. Stavros A. Paspalas “The Activities of the Institute in 2020 and 2021” followed by Dr. Kristen P. Mann (AAIA Postdoctoral Researcher and Center for Hellenic Studies Early Career Fellow) “The Material Home in Geometric Greece: A Social Archaeology of Zagora on Andros.”

The Social Structure of Democratic Athens
Professor David Pritchard (Uni of Qld)
Thursday 19 May, 2022, 6pm AEST
Online via Zoom

The Plataea Survey – Update on Archaeological Fieldwork
Dr Robert Jones
Wednesday 4 May, 2022, 6pm AEST
Online via Zoom

This lecture was recorded and you can watch it here

Style and agency of erotic art on Roman lamps
Dr Sanja Vucetic
Thursday 28 April, 2022, 6pm AEST
This event was recorded. To access the recording link please email Yvonne Inall

Feature image: oil lamp, 200-300AD from Knidos, Turkey, NM98.129 , held in the Nicholson Collection, Chau Chak Wing Museum, University of Sydney

The Antiquities of Greece and World War II
Dr Stavros Paspalas (AAIA Director)
Thursday 7 April, 6:30pm (AEST)
Chau Chak Wing Museum

Professor Alexander Cambitoglou: A celebration of a life
Public memorial in honour of our founding director
31 March, 2022
MacLaurin Hall (A14D), University of Sydney
You can read a review of the memorial via The Greek Herald

The Battle for Aphrodite presented by the Chau Chak Wing Museum and the Australian Archaeological Institute at Athens
Thursday 27 January, 2022 at 6.30pm
This event was recorded, and you can watch it here

2021 Events

Ancient Greek migration and diaspora: what new pottery research tells us
Xenia Charalambidou (Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam)

Tuesday 23 November, 2021
10:30am Athens time/ 7:30pm Sydney/ 8:30am UK
Online via Zoom

Innovative Burial Practices in a Persistent Memory Landscape: House Tomb 2 in the Pre- and Protopalatial Cemetery of Petras-Kephala, Siteia, Crete
Dr Metaxia Tsipopoulou (National Archive of Monuments of the Hellenic Ministry of Culture and Tourism)

Monday 18 October, 2021: 11:30am Athens/ 7:30pm Sydney/ 9:30am UK
This lecture was recorded and you can watch it here.

Zagora: The Foundations of Greek Community Life
Speakers: Rudy Alagich, Dr Kristen Mann, Beatrice McLoughlin and Dr Ivana Vetta
Thursday 14 October, 6:30pm AEDT/10:30am Athens/8:30am UK
Online, via Zoom

The Monuments of the Athenian Acropolis in the first century of the Modern Greek State
Dr Stavros Paspalas (AAIA Director)

30 September, 2021, 6:30pm AEST/ 11:30am Athens/ 9:30am UK
Online, via Zoom
This event was recorded and you can watch it here

This event wass co-hosted by St. Catherine Greek Orthodox Church Mascot and The Department of Modern Greek and Byzantine Studies at the University of Sydney.

The House of Eustolios at Ancient Kourion, Cyprus: An elite “Mega Mansion” of the Late Roman Period
Emeritus Professor David W. Rupp (Brock University)

Monday 20 September 12:30pm Athens/ 7:30pm Sydney/ 10:30am UK

Remembering Marathon
Estelle Strazdins (University of Queensland)
Wednesday 16 June, 2021, 6:30pm AEST
This lecture was recorded and you can watch it here

Wine and the vine: A walk through the beginnings, middle, and end of ancient Greek viticulture
Dr Emlyn Dodd (British School at Rome)

Wednesday 2 June, 2021, 6:30pm AEST
This lecture was recorded and you can watch it here

Migration Narratives: Human Mobility and the End of the Bronze Age in the Eastern Mediterranean
Professor A. Bernard Knapp (University of Glasgow; Cyprus American Archaeological Research Institute)
Wednesday 12 May , 2021 12:30pm Athens/ 7:30pm Sydney/ 10:30am UK
This lecture was recorded and you can watch it here

Ancient Greeks on Persians: Wishful thinking in Imagery?
Professor Margaret Miller (University of Sydney)
Tuesday, 4 May, 2021, 6:30pm AEST.
(Feature image: Antikenmuseum, Basel BS 480, unattributed red-figure calyx krater, c. 460 B.C.)
This lecture was recorded and you can watch it here

A Succession of Communities: from Kythera to a Victorian goldfield
Richard McNeill (La Trobe University)
Tuesday 20 April 12:30pm Athens/ 7:30pm Sydney/ 10:30am GMT

This lecture was recorded and you can watch it here

The Zagora Archaeological Project: new discoveries
Lesley Beaumont, Paul Donnelly, Stavros Paspalas & Hugh Thomas
Thursday 15 April, 2021, 6:30pm AEST
Chau Chak Wing Museum, University of Sydney & streamed via Zoom

Image: Zagora dig hut. Photo: Paul Donnelly

Board games in the ancient greek world: a matter of life and death
Dr Stavros Paspalas
(AAIA Director)
Sunday 11 April, 2021
Chau Chak Wing Museum & online via Zoom
This lecture was recorded and you can watch it here

Finds Stories: Can creative biographies write an inclusive history of the Balkans?
Dr. Konstantinos P. Trimmis, (Department of Anthropology and Archaeology, University of Bristol)
Tuesday 16 March, 2021
This lecture was recorded and you can watch it here

‘Modern’ Women of the Past? Unearthing Gender and Antiquity
An International Conference
5 – 6 March, 2021
Online via Zoom

2020 Events

From Chariot Racing to a Christian Church: Olympia and the last Olympic Games of Late Antiquity
Dr Amelia R. Brown (University of Queensland)
Wednesday 11 November
Online via Zoom (Free)

The Antiquities of Greece and World War II
Dr Stavros Paspalas (Acting Director of the AAIA)
Wednesday, 30 September, 2020
Online via Zoom

A Tale of Five Villages: Glimpses of Bronze Age Cyprus
Emeritus Professor David Frankel (La Trobe University)
Tuesday, 1 September, 2020
Online via Zoom

University of Sydney Classical Archaeology Seminar Program:
‘Mobility of ceramicists in southern Italy’
Dr Ted Robinson (University of Sydney)
Tuesday 5 May, 2020
Online via Zoom

2019 Events

The Poet’s Aesop: appropriating fable
Dr Graeme Miles (University of Tasmania)
Wednesday, 11 September, 2019

AAIA Lecture Series. Ancient Warfare in the Greek and Roman World
Dr Yvonne Inall and Adam Carr
Saturdays, 7-28 September, 2019

Picasso and the Minotaur: A chapter in modern mythmaking
Professor Clemente Marconi (AAIA 2019 Visiting Professor, Institute of Fine Arts, New York)
Wednesday, 28 August, 2019

Toward an Archaeology of Cult in a Greek Colony in the West: new excavations in the main urban sanctuary of Selinunte
Professor Clemente Marconi (AAIA 2019 Visiting Professor, Institute of Fine Arts, New York)
Wednesday, 7 August, 2019

Of Beasts and Men. Iconography and tales in the eighth-century BC Aegean
Dr Stavros Paspalas
Wednesday, 17 April, 2019

The Tomb of the Diver: death, drinking and living it up in the Ancient Greek World
Dr Gillian Shepherd (La Trobe University)
Wednesday, 27 March, 2019

AAIA Guided tour for Athens Friends of the AAIA: of the Pyrgos Vasilissis, Athens
Dr Lita Tzortzopoulou-Gregory
Sunday 17 March, 2019

Iron Age Site of Zagora

Ancient Andros Revealed: Zagora in Context
Dr Stavros Paspalas
Thursday, 7 March, 2019 (Hobart)
Thursday, 14 March, 2019 (Canberra)

AAIA Workshop, in conjunction with Archaeopolis: “Experiencing the Music of Ancient Greece”
Antonios Ktenas (Ancient Greek music composer, performer and researcher) and Konstantinos Fragkis (National and Kapodistrian University-Hermēs: Music Archaeology Project),
Wednesday, 13 February, 2019

AAIA Guided tour for Athens Friends of the AAIA: “Crete: Emerging Cities” Exhibition (Goulandris Museum of Cycladic Art)
Dr Stavros Paspalas (AAIA)
Sunday, 10 February, 2019.

AAIA Lecture Series. Pompeii Revisited: the life and death of a Roman town
Professor Jean-Paul Descœudres
Saturdays, 9 February to 2 March, 2019

AAIA Guided tour for Athens Friends of the AAIA: “Forbidden City” Exhibition (Acropolis Museum)
Dr Stavros Paspalas (AAIA)
Sunday, 27 January, 2019

AAIA, University of Sydney Summer School in Athens
Co-ordinated by Dr Lesley Beaumont (University of Sydney) & Dr Stavros Paspalas (AAIA)
January 4-25, 2019

Contacts

Dr Stavros Paspalas – Director
Australian Archaeological Institute at Athens, Room 480, Madsen Building (F09), University of Sydney NSW 2006 Australia
+61 2 9351 4759 +61 (0)2 9351 7693 arts.aaia@sydney.edu.au

Processing...
Thank you! Your subscription has been confirmed. You'll hear from us soon.
ErrorHere